My Favourite Hong Kong Dessert

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

Oh Yee Shun Steamed Ginger Milk, how many ways do I love thee? I discovered your shop, the Yee Shun Milk Company, while wandering around Causeway Bay.

dscf3261

I berate myself because I thought you were naught but a tourist trap, simply from the Japanese words on the sign.

dscf3264

Yet it was love at first sight when I spied the little bowls of ginger steamed milk awaiting the hungry hordes.

dscf3270

I plucked up my courage, made it past the curt staff, timidly sat at my designated seat across from a similarly determined local, and ordered my silken bowl of ginger goodness. Oh my, the sinus-clearing sharpness ofย ginger, the impossibly smooth curd sweetened just right.

dscf3267a

I just had to drag my friends here the next day for more of my favourite Hong Kong dessert. Sadly, there’s no substitute in Singapore. I tried a version in Chinatown that disappointed so much I’ll just have to wait for my next visit to Hong Kong.


Yee Shun Milk Company
G/F 85 Percival Street
Causeway Bay
Tel: 2576 1828

5 thoughts on “My Favourite Hong Kong Dessert

  1. i love that place! my fave is the dan dan (egg custard). whack 2 of those at a go.

    the shuang pi nai (double skin milk?) is yum too.

  2. I love Yee Shun Milk Company steamed milk too! We had it several times when visiting HK ๐Ÿ™‚
    We found a place in Toronto that makes good steamed milk too.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. @vix: I found the egg custard too, um, eggy for my taste. Like super thick chawan mushi. Will defo try out the shuang pi nai next time!

    @erik: We have the same good taste ๐Ÿ™‚ And great to know that you can get your steamed milk fix with travelling all the way to Hong Kong.

    • Hi Jobeth, thanks for your comment! I’ve tried the “Ginger Moo” at Ji De Chi at Liang Seah Street. Afraid it’s not quite the same thing as Yee Shun. Gong He Guan at Upper Cross Street has a closer, though ultimately unsatisfying, version of The Real Thing. Have you tried the Yee Shun one in its full glory? ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

